Kids Say the Darnedest Things!!

ImageOh where! Oh where! Did this child of mine come from? She looks like her dad but acts like ________. I can fill in the blank with so many names but the only one that really comes to mind is my own name. I always envisioned that my kids would have my smartness, my sassiness, my quick tongue – well everything that informed people “Don’t mess with her.” I did not expect it to come back on me by a six-year old.

My six-year old, Sydney, is aware that mommy dearest is trying her best to lose weight. She remembers that every Saturday, I go to weigh in at Weight Watchers. She knows that I have to drink diet soda because the point value is zero. She knows how to read the point value on the yogurt containers as well as the boxes of popcorn. She knows that I only eat cheese pizza even when I want to add meat. She knows that the vegetables are for mommy’s snacks. No one in the house can eat mommy’s snacks because she will eat the cookies (Sydney’s words). She knows when I come home from work I need to get on the treadmill – so she reminds me often to put on my sweats.

She knows a lot about mommy’s weight loss. So every time a commercial comes on and it is about weight loss, guess what Sydney does? Sydney tells the entire family that mommy needs to order those pills, or to buy the Nordic Track machine.

As we were watching television the other night, a commercial came on. You ask about what! Weight loss – of course! Sydney turns to me and says, “Mommy, you really need to write that number down. You are never going to lose that weight if you don’t take that pill.” What six-year old makes a comment like that to their wonderful mother? You guessed it! SYDNEY!!!

When I didn’t respond fast enough, she asked her older sister to remember the number on the screen while she grabbed a pencil. OMG! She was serious. Her older sister paid her no attention – like always. So Sydney did her best to remember part of the number. She was able to remember that the number began with 1-800. She said she will get the rest of the number when the commercial came back on. She happily placed the number on the refrigerator.

Someone please help me with my six year old. She is too much at times.

15 thoughts on “Kids Say the Darnedest Things!!

  1. So true! Enjoyed reading your post. It was hilarious. You really give us a of picture of the kind of kid Sydney is with lines like, “She remembers that every Saturday, I go to weigh in at Weight Watchers…” and “She knows how to read the point value on the yogurt containers as well as the boxes of popcorn.” And my personal favorite: ““Mommy, you really need to write that number down. You are never going to lose that weight if you don’t take that pill.” I can hear her saying those very words. All delivered with her hand on her hip.

  2. Hahaa Colandra… Well, she definitely sounds strong willed, assertive, and dare I say authoritative?? Be careful what you wish for! Even though she’s giving you grief now, her hearts in the right place. She’s looking out for her Mama. This piece is cracking me up. Posting it on the refrigerator? Very strategic! 🙂 Hilarious.

  3. This is cracking me up! She really is JUST LIKE YOU!!! I now know what Mollie will be saying and doing at the lovely age of 6 and so glad that we can share in this crazy journey of motherhood together.

  4. I just picture Sydney at daycare with my little ones. Her sassiness will serve her well when she is older. Until then, good luck. I can’t wait to hear what other things kids say 🙂

  5. I love “No one in the house can eat mommy’s snacks because she will eat the cookies (Sydney’s words)” so much. I’ve been known to fly into a rage over my food being eaten and then ate their cookies to calm down. It was their fault after all. So sweet how she looks over you.

Leave a Reply

