They are not leaving me!!!

When we were leaving our 20s we made plans to be married with children by 35. We actually said one child because we did not want to gain weight by having too many babies. By the age of 38 the plans we had made in our twenties were fulfilled plus more. Some of us married twice, one married three times. We all have at least one child, some of us have two, one of us has FOUR. We decided as we were leaving our thirties, that we would travel (girls only) once a year. We are definitely in our forties now, most of us are 42 and the remaining young ones are 41 (that would include me).

Each year since we have turned 40 we have gone somewhere, like Vegas, Miami. Now this year they (not me) have decided to drive to Texas. What the heck is in Texas for me?  

They say it would be a great adventure to road trip (drive) to Texas – 18+ hours with the girls. We can have so much fun – they say. It will give us some time to bond more – I think we do enough bonding. We can stop and sight see. Really?! Aren’t we going to be doing that in Texas? Now we have to sight see along the way to TEXAS.

Yep! I’m not really feeling this trip. But guess what?! I am going! They are not leaving me here in Chicago while the ride off into the sunset. They are not leaving me here in Chicago while they stop in all these towns and collect gifts (I will be collecting magnets). They are not leaving me here in Chicago while they talk and bond and cry and talk and bond and cry (we do that a lot since having children). They are not leaving me here in Chicago while they are child-free for a week. They are not leaving me here in Chicago while they go hang out with the cowboys. They are just not leaving me here in Chicago! Nope! Not happening. No way no how.

So I need to suck it up and get my summer gear together because I am heading to Texas this summer. Giddy up!!!

7 thoughts on “They are not leaving me!!!

  1. How awesome to have girlfriends that have stuck by each other as you move through the stages of life. Heck yeah you need to go on the trip! Remember it is not always about the destination but the journey!

  2. You HAVE to go! Girl time is so important! My college ladies and I do the same thing every year. It is some of the best times I ever have. Go Go Go cowgirl! Ride off into the sunset with your posse and rope some good times along the way!

Leave a Reply

