Ain’t Nobody Got Time for That!!

I am fortunate to be a parent of a young lady who reminds me constantly of who I am. She looks NOTHING like me but she has all of my FLAVOR (attitude). Sydney Lauren, as I so lovingly call her when I am angry, has some of the best comebacks, statements, make your head turn sayings at the ripe age of 8. Yep! She’s only 8 but is full of wisdom that I wish I could take from her and then give back when she’s 18 and out of the house.

I often have to give Sydney directions three to four times. After awhile she likes to give me this zinger of a phrase: Ain’t Nobody Got Time for That!

Here are some moments with Sydney:

Me: “Sydney, I need you to put your toys back in the toy box.”
(This is repeated several times.)

Sydney: eyes rolling, head slowing turning in my direction “Mom I heard you the first time.”

Me: “Sydney, I need you to put them away now!” (spoken through clenched teeth)

Sydney: “Kennedy (older sister), put the toys away. Ain’t nobody got time for that!!” Kennedy puts the toys away.

Me: “Sydney, I have folded your clothes, put them in your dresser drawer.”

Sydney: eyes rolling, head slowing turning in my direction “Since you folded them can’t you put them away?”

Me: “I am not understanding why you can’t follow simple directions.”

Sydney : “Mom, ain’t nobody got time for that. Don’t you see I’m watching tv?”

Me: Turns off the tv. Loudly counts to 10.

Sydney: as she is taking her clothes from my hands, “I am going to watch tv after I am done during this.”

Me: “Yeah, right!!!”

This eight year old of mine never really has time to do the things I want/need her to do. It is truly frustrating but entertaining at the same time because I see myself coming out of her. Here is a prefect example:

Literacy Coach: “It is almost that time of the year again to Slice.” (comment said loud enough for me to hear.)

Me: I ignored the comment and continued on with my daily routine.

Literacy Coach: followed me into my office “So are you going to Slice again?”

Me: eyes rolling, head turning quickly in the direction of my Coach, “Ain’t nobody got time for that.”

Coach: shocked by response (I love my shock value responses.)

Me: “Listen, there are 31 days in March. That is a lot of writing to do. I have a ton of other things that I need to focus on.”

Coach: “But your slices were funny last year. You know you must do the challenge.”

Me: eyes rolling, head turning quickly, “Fine! I will do it!” (sounding like my 8 year old)

I am back!!! Here’s to 31 days of slicing.

So I guess DO have time for that.

 

9 thoughts on “Ain’t Nobody Got Time for That!!

  1. Ok. I love this. The voice of each of you comes through so clearly, I can HEAR these conversations. It’s hard, but yes you do have time for it. The slicing community would be so sad to not see you slice. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I can feel the Sydney coming out of you….ain’t nobody got time for you to not slice! I have a feeling I am going to look forward daily to your slices!!!!!

  3. I’m having a hard time writing a comment because I keep hearing Sydney and then you, ” I don’t have time for that!” and I’m giggling!! I’m glad you Do have time for this ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. As always, your “flavor” comes through loud and clear in your slices. I’m glad found the time, as love reading them, even if they do make me miss you.

  5. This is like a glimpse into my future! Pair up Sydney with my feisty 2 year old Noah and we have quite a pair on our hands. Lord help me if I have a girl with Noah’s same fiery heart. Thanks for the positive perspective on our lil ones’ personalities! I’ll be sure to great Noah with my unconditional love this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

