Because of her….

Mom is a true southern woman. Her family means the world to her and you better not bother them. She’s a protector, a fighter, a provider. She has demonstrated to my siblings, to me what it means to love your family and provide for them.

Because of her…I am an educated woman. She knew the importance of a good education. She made sure each of her children received a solid education.

Because of her…I am an independent thinker. She did not give us answer to our questions. She made us find the answer and report back to her. She then would let us know if we were right or wrong. You never wanted to be wrong.

Because of her…I understand the importance of not following my friends or “The Joneses.” She constantly told us that we would not be like everyone else. “Think for yourself and do not let anyone get in the way of your success.” This statement is repeated to my daughters – almost daily.

Because of her…I can tell my kids no and not feel too bad about it. “Someone in your life will tell you no. It is best that you hear it from me first.” That was another statement said to us when we wanted something. She often told us if we wanted it (the item) bad enough, we could go find a job and pay for it out of own pockets. I got my first job at 15 and have been working ever since. (There were things, expensive things, that I wanted for myself.)

Because of her…I am able to save. “Save for a rainy day. You do not have to buy everything you see.” What a true statement!!! My savings help me conceive my first child. Infertility visits are very expensive.

Because of her…I have excellent work ethics. She taught us not to hang around the water fountain gossiping about other people. She demonstrated what happens when you put your best foot forward. She was promoted to manager after three years on her job. She said, “Your supervisors will notice your hard work and compensate you according.” In my case I was promoted to principal. I wonder how far am I willing to go?

Because of her…I am a loyal person.  She remained with my dad unti he was ready to call it quits. She was a loyal employee to th federal government for 30 odd years. I have been with my husband for 20 years and I currently have been with my employer for 18 years and counting.

Some would say that their mother has demonstrated some of these same qualities. This may be true but because of HER I am the person I am. Thanks, Mom!

9 thoughts on “Because of her….

  1. Oh my gosh – I can totally see your mother in YOU! I have never had the pleasure of meeting your wonderful mother, but what I know is that she raised a fantastic daughter! I see that “mathcoachslicer” commented on your slice – she sliced about her wonderful mother today, as well!

  2. On the flip side, my daughters sometimes point out to me that they get some of their “challenges” from me too! But I hope they feel they got more good than bad:). I loved your format…”Because of her…” That was a lovely structure to read.

  3. What a beautiful way to remember your mother’s teachings. I loved the repetition — in a soothing way it is like a mother, isn’t it? I loved all your similarities/teachings and how you backed them up with life details that helped us get to know her, too. I’m glad I stopped by!

  4. This post made me want to know your mom. She’s sounds great 🙂 You’ve given me an idea to use for a future piece. I don’t know where I’d be without my mom.

Leave a Reply

