My Visit to the City

It is nearly the next day and I have yet to post anything. I have so many slices running through my head at this time. I am having a difficult time grabbing one. As I draft one, another pops into my head.

I was in the city due to a family emergency. I had thoughts of writing about that experience to help me get through this darkness that is hovering over me. But the tears came. So I stopped writing that slice.

I ran into an old grammar school buddy who gave me the tightest hug today because she felt I needed it. I never spoke a word about what I was going through at the time. I wanted to write about our childhood. But then thoughts of my reason of why I was in the city crept back to the forefront of my thinking.

I was going to slice about the happy news my daughter shared with me regarding her math test. But that thought was quickly interrupted with the need of calling the paramedics. Then the reason of why I was in the city surfaced again.

So I decided to write about the reason why I was having a hard time grabbing a thought to write about – my visit to the city.

My mom is sick again – possibly another stroke. She refuses to go to the hospital. So we (the siblings) are playing a waiting game – a don’t let her sleep into eternity game. I am not ready to let her go. Not now. Not ever.

9 thoughts on “My Visit to the City

  1. Oh, I will also keep you in my thoughts and prayers! Your slice perfectly showed how our thoughts fly in every direction in times of crisis. The strangest things go through our heads and are magnified. Hang in there, and I wish you and your family the very best.

  2. Oh my gosh. The fact that you still wrote last night – with all that was going on – just solidifies the strong power that writing has for us!!! This was such an eloquent piece. You weaved and bobbed between the present situation with your mom and what you “would have sliced about.” Genius and so very heartfelt. Take care and we’ll all keep praying.

  3. I’m watching my mom and her siblings play the waiting game with their mom right now. Life is so tough in moments like these. Prayers to you, Colandra.

  4. This is masterfully written, Colandra. You found a way to organize a wave of emotions swirling around in your head and put that into words on paper. I hope doing so helped you to manage what you are going through.

Leave a Reply

