Growing up

I am no longer a spring chicken.

I can no longer stay awake all night and go to work the next day.

I can no longer keep my eyes open past 10 pm.

I can no longer plan a weekend full of events and expect my body to attend each one. 

I can no longer do many of the things I used to do. Well, that’s what my body says to me. 

I am embracing my forties and looking forward to what the fifties will offer me.

I can juggle a career while raising a family.

I can attend my kids’ sports activities and mingle with the carpool moms.

I can fall asleep alongside my girls while listening to them read to me. 

I can do many “mom” things now that I am older and wiser. 

I can do all these things because I am a grown up and my mind can make my body do things it has to do.

6 thoughts on “Growing up

  1. I thought you were going down a different road with the “I can no longer…” beginnings of which all I could relate and appreciate. However, you would have caught my heart smiling once I started reading the “I can” statements. So positive , so inspiring, and provided me with a moment to think about all the things I have for which to be grateful. Great slice!

  2. I love that you are able to find all the things that you can do as you have grown wiser….such a great read, it lightened my mood and made me smile…I thought I was the only one who couldn’t keep my eyes open past 10!

  3. Age is a frame of mind. I was exhausted in my forties; My kids were still in Grammar school.. In my fifties, it became way easier…Now, I’m in my 60’s, life is a piece of cake…Just danced to Flo-rida’s Right Round” this weekend. You will get your groove back. I’m sure of that! Loved this slice.

Leave a Reply

