The Look

It looks at me, I look at it.

My husband says stop looking at it and doing something about it.

It looks at me, I look at it.

My legs move towards it but stop abruptly.

It looks at me, I look at it.

My mind says try again tomorrow.

It looks at me, I look at it.

It powers on and says, “Welcome back, Colandra.”

It looks at me, I look at it.

I wave my flag, I give in, and now my legs are burning.

The elliptical machine WON! I won, too!!

It looks at me, I look it.

I say, “See you tomorrow.” It says, “Good job!”

It looks at me, I look it.

We are friends again.

7 thoughts on “The Look

  1. I was not expecting that! I love the repetition! It helped this piece flow to a very satisfying (and maybe sweaty) ending!

  2. Love this slice! At first I thought…a bug. Then I thought…a scale. Love the surprise at the end! So glad that you and your elliptical have become friends.

  3. I knew right away that you were talking about exercising (and in my mind, looking in the mirror), and te smile on my face grew with each line as I read your piece. So impressed that you are friends again. I cringe at the thought of that machine!

Leave a Reply

