A Hard Lesson

Her black is beautiful…. I want her to be comfortable in her skin.

Her black is beautiful…I want her to be proud of her history.

Her black is beautiful….I want her to walk with her head held high, hands on her hips, confidence in her stride, and determination on her face.

Her black is beautiful….I do no want her to be ashamed when her history is taught in school. Her ancestors were strong, proud people. They contributed a lot to this land we now call home.

Her black is beautiful….I want her to know that she adds value to this thing we call life and everyone has something to offer including her.

Her black is beautiful….I want her to know that some will envy her, hate her for no reason, try to crush her dream but there are those who will uplift her, celebrate her, and love her unconditionally.

Her black is beautiful….I want her to know that Mama got her back.

This is dedicated to my oldest daughter who is starting to experience this hated word: racism. She will know how beautiful her skin is and the value of her worth.

Her black is beautiful!!!

4 thoughts on “A Hard Lesson

  1. Beautiful poem about an ugly and difficult topic. So sad that your daughter has to deal with such ugliness at her age, but I am thankful that you are there to remind her of her worth and beauty!

Leave a Reply

